What’s in your backyard?

Our backyard if like a jungle, because I have been so busy with work and school, the backyard has become out of control.  There could be dinosaurs back there and I’d have no idea.

Yesterday I had some free time, so I went back there to do some gardening, and to my surprise, garlic scapes were growing everywhere! (verified by my horticulturalist friend, please don’t eat random things from the backyard without confirmation)

I seem to always miss them when they are in the grocery store for a week.

I cut them from the plant and brought them into the house to wash them and cut them up ready to fry.

IMG_20170627_174415

 

Next thing I did was heat up the frying pan to med heat, and melt some butter, before throwing in the scapes and cooking them for about 5 minutes.

IMG_20170627_175026

Once the scapes are bright green like the pictures here, they are ready for consumption. YUM! A little parmesan  cheese on top and bam! delicious home grown side dish.

IMG_20170627_175427

 

 

 

Leave a comment